Miramar GC win 2015 NZ Womens Senior Handicap Foursomes



2015 New Zealand Golf Women’s Senior Handicap Foursomes

Whakatane Golf Club

Final Results – Thursday 26 November

 First timers Margaret Greco and Gail Toomer have won the 2015 New Zealand Women’s Senior Handicap Foursomes, at the Whakatane Golf Club this afternoon.  Members of the Miramar Golf Club in Wellington, in taking out the 2015 title and, the NZLGU Salver, they qualified in Monday’s stroke play round in the top sixteen, and then went on to win all four matches in the top division. 

Their convincing win this afternoon, 7/5 denied the oldest player in the tournament the winners glory.  Waihi member Nancy Ross, who is due to turn 85 in December, paired with Kay Marshall, had a dream run to the final only to be beaten in their last match.   

Local members Cris Barker and Claire Balderstone won the NZLGU Plate and flight winners included Jenny Braithwaite (Taumarunui) & Suzie Lang (Turangi) along with Kath Carrington and Jan Robinson from Waihi.                       

Whakatane did get their hands on one trophy when Jenny Shaw and Lorraine Steel won the Mrs SS Wilson Plates in Division 2.  Their final went to the 17th, with a 2/1 result against Lesleyann Jensen (Tauranga) and Raewyn Wright (Waihi), who finished as the Division 2 runners-up. 

Plate winners in Division 2 were Michelle Munro & Paula Houghton (Weedons) with Bo Holmes and Kay Swanson (Whakatane) flight winners.  The other flight in the 2nd division was won by the sister duo of Wendy Storey (North Shore) and Donna Sullivan (Weedons) who needed 39 holes today to win their prize – their semi final going to the 19th and their final, to the 20th hole.                                                                                                                                                Peg Purdie and Wendy Thompson from Waitomo won the ADLGA Trophy in Division 3, dedicating their win to the late Patsy Hankins, the past President of New Zealand Golf who died suddenly at her home 3 weeks ago.  Runners up were Gay Bull and Marion Elliott from Miramar with the Plate won by Di Kay and Gail Parkinson from Weedons.  Kay is a former Canterbury representative, currently trialling for the Canterbury Masters team to compete in the 2015 New Zealand Women’s Masters, due to be held at Methven in April 2016.  

Flight winners included another Miramar pair, Jo Baker and Lyn Broad, and Shari Smith from Waitangi paired with Phyllis Crawley, also a Waitangi member.

Whakatane member Bo Holmes had a family connection with the Rosetown Trophy. Her mother, Mrs Lenis O’Conner donated the trophy when a fourth division was officially introduced in 1997. This years winners were Wai Morrison and Donna White (Rotorua) winning their final this afternoon from Anne Bayliss and Robyn Evans (Mercury Bay).                                                      

The Weedons pair of Pam Hughes and Vicki Ward won the Plate, with the flight winners being Janice Bell (Poverty Bay) paired with Diane Eccles (Mercury Bay), and a further Weedons combination, Daph Bennett and Margaret Langan.

The final prizes were awarded tonight in a lavish 1920’s Flappers themed evening, to those top players in the 5th Division, who competed in a round robin format.  The winning pair were Avon Gordon and Jane Crawford (Waihi), runners-up Kerry McConchie and Chris Pitcaithly from Nelson, and in 3rd place, Marian Irvine (Rotorua) and Judy McKenzie (Nelson).        

Tournament organisers, PaR nz Golfing Holidays on behalf of New Zealand Golf, announced the 2016 venue, Matamata in the central Waikato region, to be played between the 21 – 24 November 2016.   Entry forms and more details will be released shortly.

2015 New Zealand Women’s Senior Handicap Foursomes

Semi Finalists Found

Whakatane Golf Club Wednesday 25 November

After three days of golf, the semi finalists have been found in four divisions of the 2015 New Zealand Women’s Senior Handicap Foursomes.  All semi finals and finals will be completed tomorrow, Thursday 26 November. 

Hosted at the challenging links Whakatane Golf Club, this is the 42nd annual Women’s Senior Handicap Foursomes.  However sadly for locals, there will not be a Whakatane pair taking out the highly coveted top division trophy, the NZLGU Championship Salvers.  

Through to the semi finals in the top division are Manuka members Lynley Halligan partnered with Glen Street, who will battle it out for a place in the final against Margaret Greco and Gail Toomer from Miramar. 

On the opposite side of the draw are Pupuke members Judith Simpson, partnered with Di Taylor who will face Kay Marshall and Nancy Ross from nearby Waihi Golf Club, in the other semifinal. 

Whakatane hopes will be pinned on the results of the morning’s semi final in the 2nd Division.  Jenny Shaw and Lorraine Steel will meet Mina Johnston and Alison McFarland, all Whakatane club members, in the first of the semi finals. They will be competing for the Mrs SS Wilson Salvers.   Raewyn Wright (Waihi) and Lesleyann Jensen (Tauranga) will compete against Roie Kingan and Judith Roadley (Te Puke members) for the other final spot in this division. 

The 3rd Division competes for the ADLGA Trophies and semi finalists include Harriett Byelich and Anne Hodges (Taumarunui), Peg Purdie and Wendy Thompson (Waitomo), Gay Bull and Marion Elliott (Miramar) and the final pair of Idrean Conning (Hukanui) and Janice Craig (Taumarunui). 

There may be another local pair in the winner’s circle if Whakatane members Fran Cook and Trish Eilbeck can win their semi final in the 4th Division, against the Mercury Bay pair of Anne Bayliss and Robyn Evans.  They would then need to beat the winners of the other semi final, which includes Ngaire English and Robyn Pardy (North Shore) and Wai Morrison and Donna White from the Rotorua Golf Club.   The 4th Division awards the wining pair with the Rosetown Trophy’s. 

The tournament, which was first played at the Manukau Golf Club in 1973, has never been hosted at Whakatane.    The local Whakatane course is a recognised championship links course in the Bay of Plenty, having hosted a number of national events, the last being the Women’s Toro Interprovincial in 2011. 

This year the tournament attracted entries from 165 players, from 35 different clubs around the country.   The field included a 21 strong contingent from Weedons in Christchurch, who were hosts of this popular women’s event in 2014. The event is open to women amateur golfers, aged 50 and over.  The 2015 field included players aged between 50 and 84 with the youngest player only just turning 50, two months ago, and the oldest player due to celebrate her 85th birthday next month.  

Despite the record number of entries, due to withdrawals for illness and other personal reasons, the starting field included 76 pairs, four short of the required number to complete a full 16-pair 5th division. 

Tournament directors, PaR nz Golfing Holidays under the auspices of New Zealand Golf, formatted a round-robin 18-hole match-play challenge for the lowest qualifiers.  After two rounds, current leaders are Jane Crawford and Avon Gordon from Waihi on 22.5 points, with Kerry McConchie and Chris Pitcaithly (Nelson) one shot back on 21.5 points.   In 3rd and 4th place respectively are Colleen Hope and Janice Jeffs from Tauranga (19.5 points) and Jo Free and Lis Stringer from Napier and, Heather Blackwell and Jill Evans, both on 19 points. 

The 5th Division will have one more round in their 18-hole round robin challenge before also playing off for top places in tomorrow’s scheduled afternoon finals. 

For more information contact

Denise Langdon

NZ Golf Tournament Director

Phone 0275 662 385