2020 NZ Women's Seniors Championship @ Taupo GC


2020 NZ Women's Seniors Championship

Taupo Golf Club, 17 - 20 February 2020

Click here LIVE SCOREBOARD QUALIFYING www.golf.co.nz/tournaments

NZ Women’s Senior Championships - Top 16 Found! 

Trans-Tasman Captain, Jacqui Morgan (Monash) will lead the charge tomorrow in the 72nd New Zealand Women’s Senior Championships, as the top qualifier with a par round of 73. 

Morgan who is a regular competitor on this side of the Tasman, both in New Zealand national events and more social multi-course challenges, was the only player to make par. 

The four-day tournament is being played on Taupo’s Centennial Golf Course, which with recent dry weather conditions is presenting players with tough ‘links-like’ fairways.   While the course was softened with some overnight misty rain, tough bounces and penal rough made it a sound challenge for the 124 strong field. 

Morgan is here with an Australian contingent of 19 players has a notable career of 16 Australian State and Territory Championships.  Morgan bogeyed the par 4 - 4th, par 5 - 11th, and par 4 - 16th countered by birdies on the 1st a tight opening par 4, par 5 – 2nd, and par 5 – 13th 

Morgan will now pair off against fellow teammate Carmen Palframan (Lake Karrinyup) who shot a 82 to make the top 16 and the coveted first division.  Palframan just pipped Debbie McCallum (Te Ngutu) in a count-back.  

New Zealanders in top form and making the top 16 are Southland’s Robyn Boniface (Queens Park) with a 76, Jill Morgan (Cambridge) one shot back on 77, and Robyn Pullar (Invercargill), Tracy Bary (Rarangi) and Diana Syer (Wairakei), all shooting 78. 

Six over par, shooting 79 were the quartet of Shelley McIlroy (Springfield), Robyn Pellow (Ngaruawahia), Helen Pascoe (Buninyong, Australia) and Sharon Dawson (Denmark CC, Australia). 

The top 16 qualifiers included Kim Burke (Shelly Beach, Australia) who will match against Diana Syer, and, Brigit Holford (Royal Auckland & Grange) who will compete for a win in round one, taking on Tracy Bary. 

Anna Brabyn, a past district representative and Taupo’s President shot an 81, 4-under her handicap to confirm her place in the top division, and will face Robyn Pullar.  

Joanna Neep (Arrowtown)  also qualifying on 81, will match against Jill Morgan, while Sharon Thompson (Avondale & Queenstown) will play Robyn Boniface. 

The 2nd division competing for the Waipukurua Jubilee Salver includes Suzette Eastmond (Waitikiri) from the winning 2019 Canterbury Masters team, local Chris Pritt, a past Bay of Plenty representative, and Annette Muir (Waitemata), Michelle Reardon (Nelson), Joanne Wilton-Eadie (Levin), Jo Kent (Rangiora), all past or current district representatives. 

For all results refer www.golf.co.nz/tournaments and www.parnz.co.nz/news. 

The first round of match play commences tomorrow from 8.30 am with quarter-finals on Wednesday starting at the same time.


For more details contact

Denise Langdon

NZ Golf Tournament Director

Phone 0275 662 385