Australia win 2020 Womens Senior Trans-Tasman Cup


Australia Claims The Trans-Tasman Cup, Again! 

Well that’s that!  Australia, led by Jacqui Morgan have retained the Trans-Tasman Cup, 8 ½ points to New Zealand’s 3 ½. 

Trailing 5-1 overnight after yesterday’s Foursomes and Fourballs, where New Zealand only managed to scrape one win, the task today was always daunting.  None-the-less New Zealand came out firing. 

Highlights from the six singles matches for the Kiwis included local Diana Syer claiming the prize scalp of Sue Wooster, who had been ranked no. 1 in the senior world circuit, one month ago.  This match was all square through the first nine holes, Wooster got two back on the 11th and 12th, then lost the 13th to a Syer birdie, the 15th where she bogeyed, then another to a 3-putt on the 16th.  Syer birdied the 17th and the match was New Zealand’s, 2 and 1. 

It seemed like all of Ngaruawahia was out supporting, their ‘homegrown favourite’, Robyn Pellow who gave New Zealand their second win of the day.   Pellow led from the first hole, with a birdie, and two more wins on the back nine where opponent Sharon Dawson was struggling to make a putt.   Three down at the turn, Dawson did get two back on the back nine including a birdie on the par-3 12th. But the long-standing Waikato representative claimed the 15th and then despite a wayward tee shot into the long scrub, miraculously got back on the 16th green for 2, and made par.  Match won 4 and 2. 

Rookie Julie Gee, playing the very experienced and skilled Jacqui Morgan, Australia’s captain, initially 5-down after 6-holes and while still losing, can take extreme heart from the chase she made on holes 7, 8, 9 10 and 11 to square the match.  Morgan, ever talented, fresh off her win last week at the 2020 New Zealand Women’s Senior Championships, dug in and eventually won on the 16th, 3 and 2. 

Robyn Pullar managed a half for New Zealand against Carmen Palframan but the day belonged to Australia.  Wins by Kim Burke over Robyn Boniface, New Zealand’s captain, started to close the door on any New Zealand dreams of staging a major upset, the inevitable Cup win cemented by Helen Pascoe, a win 4 and 3, over Brigit Holford. 

Australia won the inaugural Trans-Tasman 18 months ago in Adelaide, by one point.  Both Morgan and Boniface were the captains in 2018 and again this year.  The 3rd Trans-Tasman Cup will be staged in 2 ½ years to coincide with the 2022 Australian Senior Women’s Championships which are due to be held in Victoria. Both captains reflected on who might be in the 2022 teams as masters players on both sides of the Tasman turn 55 in time to put their hand up.   

One thing is for sure, Morgan, Wooster, Pascoe, Palframan, Dawson and Burke will be celebrating all the way home, and so they should.  Well done Australia – a class act and the 2020 Cup deservedly yours.

Check out the hole by hole action from Day 1 & the Final Day 2



2020 Senior Women’s Trans-Tasman

Taupo Golf Club, Sunday 23 February 

The defending Australian team may think the ‘door is slightly ajar’ or ‘even swinging with opportunity’ after their very successful day at the Taupo Golf Club, winning all three matches in this morning’s Foursomes, and then two of three Fourball matches this afternoon. 

However, as the deadly Southland pair of Robyn Boniface and Robyn Pullar showed, the game can swing, with a mixture of determination coupled with 3-birdies on the last three holes, and the ‘door can swing shut’. 

Boniface, the New Zealand captain drilled a 20metre putt on the par 4, 16th to make the first of their birdies, to give some light on what had been a tough back nine, played in cold, heavy rain, trailing their Australian opponents since the 7th hole.   Their opponents, Jacqui Morgan, the Australian captain paired with Helen Pascoe were not going to capitulate easily, however, coming back with a birdie on the short par 4, 17th only to find New Zealander’s also made an equally impressive birdie.  

It was down to final putts on the 18th hole, the other two Fourball matches having finished, with Australia claiming both.  The cool New Zealand captain, then drilled another putt, for a 2 on the par 3, 18th.  The match was New Zealand’s, 1up, and which prevented a ‘dead-rubber’ going into tomorrow’s singles.   And importantly gave the Kiwi team a very positive, much needed, boost to finish the day. 

The singles match playlist was then announced by the captains, the Australians have the honour of the first pick.  Morgan announced Kim Burke to lead the team out, who is no stranger to winning on New Zealand soil, having won the New Zealand Senior Women’s Match Play in 2017. ‘Bang’, Boniface countered with the announcement of herself to take on Burke, no doubt wanting to lead her team out tomorrow.  With only six matches to be played, it’s hard to pick a ‘marquee group’ but this lead pair will be one to watch, this writer believes, potentially setting the pace for what might come. 

Second out will be local Diana Syer, the current New Zealand Women’s Mid-Amateur Champion, and who will take on Australia’s Sue Wooster.  This will be a match of local knowledge and form vs a wealth of international experience that Wooster brings to the match. 

Both players in the third match, have won the New Zealand Senior Women’s Championship; Australia’s Sandra Dawson, a one-time winner, against Robyn Pellow, who has hoisted the trophy twice.   Pellow has a strong band of supporters who have made the journey down from her home course, Ngaruawahia.  Pellow will want to reward their support for sure, but Dawson will not be an easy opponent.  

Matches four and five see Australian’s Helen Pascoe and Carman Palframan play Bright Holford and Robyn Pullar respectively.  Morgan has placed herself at the back of her team, wanting to have a strong finish if need be, and will take on Julie Gee, the new cap for New Zealand, in the last of the matches to be played.  

Australia, the defending team, won the Trans-Tasman Cup in the inaugural tournament played in Adelaide, 2018, by one point.   With five wins already on the board, they would rightly think they have a ‘sniff’ of the 2020 tournament but the Kiwis will come out fighting.  The results of today’s matches do not demonstrate the competitiveness and the way many games see-sawed back and forth, so as with sport at all levels, tomorrows singles could be anyone’s to claim.   

Play starts at 8.30 am on the Centennial Course, Taupo Golf Club. 

Results Foursomes: Pascoe / Palframan (Aus) bt Holford / Syer (NZ) 2up; Dawson / Wooster (Aus) bt Boniface / Pellow (NZ) 2up; Morgan / Burke (Aus) bt Pullar / Gee (NZ) 3 and 2

Results Fourball: Palframan / Dawson (Aus) bt Syer / Pellow (NZ) 5 and 4; Morgan / Pascoe (Aus) lost to Boniface / Pullar (NZ) 1 Down; Burke / Wooster (Aus) bt Gee / Holford (NZ) 3 and 2 

Monday Single Matches as follows: 8.30am Kim Burke vs Robyn Boniface; 8.38am Sue Wooster vs Diana Syer; 8.46am Sharon Dawson vs Robyn Pellow; 8.54am Helen Pascoe vs Brigit Holford; 9.02am Carmen Palframan vs Robyn Pullar; 9.10am Jacqui Morgan vs Julie Gee 

For more information contact

Denise Langdon

NZ Golf Tournament Director

Phone 027 5662 385