Final winners for the NZ 9 Hole Masters




The 2020 New Zealand Golf Make Time to Play 9 Campaign is off to a flying start with the completion of the 2020 NZ 9-Hole Masters. 

Hosted by Te Puke Golf Club with PaR nz Golfing Holidays as the tournament directors, the 2020 tournament attracted over 130 entries from players around the country. 

While injuries and illness meant the starting line-up was slightly less, the support demonstrated that the 9-Hole Movement is popular and a great endorsement to the R&A and NZ Golf’s 9- hole initiative. 

Local member Judy Cram won the women’s division 1, with a commanding lead of 6 points in the 3-round stableford competition. Judy was steady all 3 rounds, despite the horrendous conditions all players faced yesterday with rounds of 19, 20 and another 20 today. 

Runner up was Northland’s Joanne Brunker on 53 points (19, 16, 18) with Sandy Longo (Maungakiekie) one point behind with rounds of 23, 19 and 10. 

The second women’s division was won by Mara Webb who hails from the Cambridge Golf Club.  Mara started out with a 20, got bit with a 16 yesterday but flew home today with a stunning 25, total 61 points.   Four points behind was Bonnie Chatfield from Pupuke (18, 22, 17) with another Cambridge member, Judy Pratt in 3rd place (20, 17, 19). 

Consistency in the smaller men’s field was shown by local Bay member Neeakash Bissoon (Omanu) with rounds of 17, 15 and 18 today to take out the 1st men’s division.  Neeakash’s total of 50 just pipped second lace getter, Mike Crawford (Judgeford) who shot 15, 16 and 18.  Bruce Carnachan (Remuera) was third with 46 points (18, 16, 12). 

The final gold medal was awarded to Graham Crawshay (Hukanui) who won the men’s second division.  Graham shot 19, 18 and 20 today, total of 57 points, five ahead of Alby Shields from Whangaparaoa (21, 15, 16).  Third place Glenn Attewell (Hamilton) was a further 4 shots behind with rounds of 18, 14 and 16. 

The New Zealand 9-Hole Masters originated from an idea to get more tourists north with the Bay of Islands Kerikeri hosting the inaugural tournament in 2014.  Otago Golf Club also known as Balmacewen has agreed to host the 2021 NZ 9-Hole Masters as part of their 150th anniversary week celebration’s. 

The historic Otago Golf Club, founded in 1871 is the oldest club in the Southern Hemisphere.  Amongst many others the following names have at one time walked the challenging Balmacewen fairways; Gene Sarazen, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Peter Thomson and Bobby Locke, along with Sir Bob Charles, Greg Turner, Frank Nobilo, Phillip Tataurangi and Michael Campbell.

Dates set for 2021, are Monday 15 – Wednesday 17 November.  PaR nz Golfing Holidays will in due course release all details and on-line entry.

Image from left, Graham Crawshay, Mara Webb, Judy Cram, Neeakash Bissoon


Denise Langdon

PaR nz Golfing Holidays

Phone +64 275 662 385



Find us on Facebook