Scores after Round 3 2022 NZ Womens Masters @ Alexandra GC


2022 NZ Womens Masters @ Alexandra GC 

RESULTS Round 3 Saturday 2 April 2022



Waikato Dominant


2022 New Zealand Women’s Masters

Saturday 2 April, Alexandra Golf Club

The ‘Moo-Loos’ have all but got their hands on the coveted Russell Grace Trophy after a commanding performance on the attractive Central Otago course. 

Their overnight led of 6 points (gross stableford points) has been extended to 23 after 3 rounds of the 2022 New Zealand Women’s Masters played.  One round, stands between them and the 2022 honour. 

All team members have contributed to the team total of 292, with Jill Morgan the leading player for the Waikato, with 101 points.  Veteran Waikato player, in front of a large contingent of supporters, Robyn Pellow 97 points, with Michelle Archer and Sian Stevenson, 93 and 88 personal tally’s respectively. 

Due to a number of golfers from the Waikato in the area for the forthcoming Mount Michael Central Otago Autumn Golf Classic, it is expected that the ‘cow bells’ will be ringing out tomorrow.  The last time the ‘Moo Loos’ won was in 2018, at Inglewood when as per current standing, they led the competition from start to finish.  This could be their year again, a lead like that hard to chase down! 

However that’s not to say the other 13 districts will not be doing their darndest, no more so than Southland that have come up to 2nd place after two strong rounds today.   Southland’s favourite captain Robyn Boniface had the round of the day carding a 71, one under the card, with a team contribution of 37 points, in her afternoon round.   Boniface carded 3 birdies and 2 bogeys, and no doubt will be spurring her Southland team on at tonight’s team talk.    Placed 5th equal overnight to be lying 2nd after today’s competition is a testament to the southerners grit and determination. 

Tasman had a great day on the flat tussock course and will start tomorrow’s final in 3rd place.  Tasman’s team total of 265, 4 shots back from Southland is a tremendous result when earlier in the week, players missed out on practice rounds, due to flight cancellations delaying their arrival. Overnight, Tasman had been placed 5th equal with Southland. 

The top four is rounded out by home favourites Otago, with the top scorer for the team being Susan Grieg.  Otago have shown a remarkable change of form when placed last in 2019, 5th the last time the tournament was held in 2021 and now in 4th place with one round to go.  Liz McRae, well known Otago golfer will led the team and while sister Mary Hore, has not been a contributor to date with the scoring (best 3 out of 4 taken each round), her effervescent personality and Alexandra membership has brought out many club supporters.  A big deficit , 29 points would be a tall ask but it would be a very sympathetic win if they could pull off an historic chase! Otago have never won the Women’s Masters. 

Manawatu Wanganui have won the championship once, in 1994, at Alexandra.  Pipped by Otago by one point to be in the top four going into tomorrow’s final, they are naturally disappointed that they are placed 5th tonight.  Lisa Herbert, has compiled two more solid performances to be the leading individual with 104 points, providing great team inspiration for tomorrow’s fight. 

The top eight teams are rounded out with North Harbour who climbed back today, to be in 6th place, Northland despite Kylie Jacoby’s strong led yesterday slipped back today to lie 7th equal with Canterbury.    

The bottom six teams arguably battle it out in the final round for placing.  Bay of Plenty find themselves in unfamiliar territory trying to rally from the bottom of the table, having to field their reserve when Heather Keefe pulled herself from the 3rd round with a shoulder injury.   Auckland also, a past winner on four occasions, is struggling, attempting to keep their 2021 7th placing.  How sport can be such a leveller at times? 

Tomorrow’s final round will see where these two teams along with Wellington, Hawkes Bay / Poverty Bay, Taranaki and Aorangi will finish.  Can they better, equal or worsen their 2021 standings? 

But all eyes will be on Waikato and the chase-down of their 4th title.  Play is scheduled to commence at 8.00am at Alexandra Golf Club, with the four top teams due to tee off from 8.40am.